Elder Scrolls Online: How being a tank means absolutely NOTHING! in PvP and other gripes

Elder Scrolls Online: How being a tank means absolutely NOTHING! in PvP and other gripes

I have a couple of issues with the way certain aspects of combat work in this game. Especially in PvP in the regards of CC and TTK. Below is a short story to illustrate how I feel this way.
“I am a VR 4 Templar who is mainly a tank in setup. I have armor, spell resist, and health regen softcapped and have about 3k health in PvP. I like riding around in Cyrodiil in search of 1v1’s. I’m not the most hardcore skilled PvP’er out there but I can be more than average in a 1v1 and I tend to win often, even against some higher VR players.
Yesterday I got knocked off my horse by two guys. One was a VR 4 Nightblade and the other was a VR 2 Sorc. I get the KD for falling of my horse, which lasted for 5 freaking seconds! CC break didn’t work, I couldn’t do and could only watch how my tanky character gets destroyed within the 5 second duration.”

Elder Scrolls Online: How being a tank means absolutely NOTHING! in PvP and other gripes
In my opinion this simply isn’t fair and is crappy design. The knockdown duration for falling off your horse shouldn’t last that long and a fully specced tank character should not die in 5 seconds to 2 guys of a similar level. Armor and spell resist mean nothing in this game. And this doesn’t only happen when knocked down from horseback. There have been certain instances where I get charged by some DK and instantly get taloned to the ground. CC break doesn’t work, neither does dodge roll. I lol as I see the DK pop his little standard on my head and then continues to spam me with flame lash. By the time I get out of the stunlock I am either dead or very close.
This isn’t a thread to complain about DK’s, but I’d just like to point out my frustration with how CC works in this game and how being a tank means absolutely nothing in PvP. I was disappointed enough to not see an additional effect to the taunt abilities in ESO, as in where they reduce the damage done by an individual by a certain percentage, except if that individual is attacking you. Also there no feature like ‘guard’ that games like WAR and TOR had. Being a tank in PvP is just being gimped DPS that has a tiny bit more survivability than other roles. Let’s not forget how light armored players can easily get softcapped on armor and spell resist by a simple press of a button, or how every other role has acces to the same defensive abilities. The only thing you could call being tanky is being able to focuss on countering casters by using skills like eclipse, defensive posture and reflective scales.
PvP seems to be all about who can do the most damage in the least amount of time and about choosing the right targets to unleash upon. It is ridiculously easy to drop a target within 6 seconds.Tanking is non-existant and having a big health pool and stacking defensive stats will not make you much harder to kill.
I really love this kind of PvP though and enjoy it in ESO, I just hope ZOS will do something about TTK and the viability of defensive roles in PvP.

Leave a Reply

